WOTD: God Can Set You Free from the Prison of Your Past – Joyce Meyer

I come from a background of abuse and was raised in a dysfunctional home. My childhood was filled with fear and torment.

As a young adult trying to live for Christ and follow the Christian lifestyle, I believed that my future would always be marred by my past. I thought, “How can anyone who has the kind of past I do ever be really all right? It’s impossible!”

But Jesus said, “The Spirit of the Lord [is] upon Me…He has sent Me to announce release to the captives….” Jesus came to open the prison doors and set the captives free.

I couldn’t make any progress until I realized that God wanted to release me from the prison of my past. I had to believe that neither my past nor my present determined my future, unless I let it. I had to let God miraculously set me free.

You may have had a miserable past that continues to affect your present in negative and depressing ways. But I say to you boldly, your future is not determined by your past or your present! Let God break off the chains of your past.

Prayer Starter: God, I believe that You are more powerful than my past. I receive the freedom You give me. My past will not determine my future.

Memory Verse: “The Spirit of the LORD is upon Me, Because He has anointed Me To preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to the captives And recovery of sight to the blind, To set at liberty those who are oppressed; To proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD.” (Luke 4:18, 19 NKJV)

About Nana Kwame(NVNV KWV3E)

still finding myself, with every piece i write i find a new clue, in the end they'll come together and fit together like glue, to become ME
This entry was posted in inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

